How to Delete or Unpublish a Facebook Page

  • You can delete your Facebook page from the Facebook website, mobile app, or Business Manager.
  • When you delete a Facebook page, it’s still visible for 14 days, and you can reactivate it. 
  • If you want your Facebook page to be invisible to other users, you’ll need to unpublish it. 
  • Visit Insider’s Tech Reference library for more stories.

Ready to shutter your side gig, or eliminate your company’s Facebook page? It’s easy to delete your page on the Facebook website, Facebook mobile app, or Facebook Business Manager website. 

You can also unpublish your page if you want to make it unviewable to other users until you’re ready to re-publish it. 

Here’s everything you need to know about deleting or unpublishing a Facebook page. 

How to delete a Facebook page 

When you delete a Facebook page, it will remain visible to the public during the 14-day deletion period. If you want it to be invisible to the public, you will need to unpublish it before deleting it.

On the Facebook website:

1. Go to the Facebook website and log in to your account. 

2. From the Facebook homepage, click Pages in the sidebar menu on the left. 

Facebook homepage, sidebar menu

Click “Pages” on the left.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


3. Under Pages you manage, click on the page you want to delete. If a pop-up asks you to connect your page to WhatsApp, just exit out of it.

Facebook Pages menu

Click on your page.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


4. In the sidebar menu on the left, scroll down and select Settings at the very bottom of the list.

Facebook Page Settings on left

Click “Settings” on the left.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


5. On the General tab of the Settings page, scroll all the way to the bottom and select Remove Page.

Page Settings General tab

Click “Remove page.”

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


6. Click the blue hyperlink Delete [your page name] and in the pop-up, click Delete Page.

Delete Page pop-up

After clicking the hyperlink, click “Delete Page” in the pop-up.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


7. Another pop-up will appear notifying you that your page has “entered deletion mode” and that you can cancel the deletion within 14 days. Click OK

8. To reactivate your page within the 14-day window, click the General tab at the top of the Page settings menu. A banner will appear at the top of the General tab notifying you that your page is set to be deleted — click Cancel Deletion and hit Confirm in the pop-up. 

Cancel page deletion banner

Click “Cancel Deletion” in the banner.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


On the Facebook Business Manager website:

1. Go to the Facebook Business Manager website and log in to your account. 

2. In the sidebar menu on the left, click Settings, toward the bottom of the list.

Business Manager homepage

Click “Settings” on the left.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


3. On the Settings page, click More business settings.

More business settings

Click “More business settings” on the left.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


4. Under Accounts, click Pages.

pages screen

Click “Pages” on the left.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


5. Click on the Page you want to delete, and select “Remove” in the top-right corner. 

Page overview screen

Click “Remove” in the top-right.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


6. Facebook will tell you that you’ve got 14 days to cancel the deletion process. If you want to continue with deleting your page, click Delete Page.

7. After 14 days you’ll be asked to confirm that you want to delete your Facebook page. During this time, you can go back to Page Options > Delete Page and select Confirm to stop your page from being deleted. If you want your Facebook page to be invisible during the 14 days, then follow the instructions below to unpublish it.

On the Facebook mobile app:

1. Open the Facebook app on your Android or iOS device.

2. Tap the icon of three horizontal lines in the bottom-right corner and select Pages from the menu.

mobile app settings menu

Tap “Pages” in the settings menu.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


3. Under Pages You Manage, click the page you want to delete.

4. Tap the gear-shaped Settings icon in the top-right corner.

View Page overview

Tap the settings icon.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


5. Tap General at the top of the Settings page and scroll down to the Remove Page section. 

6. Tap the blue hyperlink Delete [your page name] and in the pop-up, select Delete Page

General page remove page section

Tap on the delete page hyperlink.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


7. The next screen will notify you that your page has “entered deletion mode” and that you can cancel the deletion within 14 days. Tap OK.

8. To reactivate your page within the 14-day window, go back to the General tab of the Settings menu. Scroll down until you see a banner notifying you that your page is set to be deleted — tap Cancel Deletion and hit Confirm on the next screen.

general page cancel deletion

Click “Cancel Deletion.”

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


How to unpublish a Facebook page 

Instead of deleting your page entirely, you can make it invisible to other Facebook users until you’re ready to publish it. 

On the Facebook website:

1. Go to the Facebook website and log in to your account. 

2. From the Facebook homepage, click Pages in the sidebar menu on the left. 

Facebook homepage, sidebar menu

Click “Pages” on the left.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


3. Under Pages you manage, click on the page you want to delete. If a pop-up asks you to connect your page to WhatsApp, just exit out of it.

Facebook Pages menu

Click on your page.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


4. In the sidebar menu on the left, scroll down and select Settings at the very bottom of the list.

Facebook Page Settings on left

Click “Settings” on the left.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


5. On the General tab of the Settings page, click Page visibility at the very top. 

General page settings menu

Click “Page visibility” at the top.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


6. Click the circle button next to Page unpublished and hit Save Changes.

Unpublish page section

Click “Page unpublished” and hit “Save Changes.”

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


7. In the Unpublish Page? pop-up, select a reason for unpublishing and hit Next.

reason for deletion pop-up

Select a reason and click “Next.”

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


8. Then, click an option under What do you need to finish your Page? and click Unpublish.

On the Facebook Business Manager website:

1. Go to the Facebook Business Manager website and log in to your account. 

2. In the sidebar menu on the left, click Settings, toward the bottom of the list.

Business Manager homepage

Click “Settings” on the left.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


3. On the Settings page, click More business settings.

More business settings

Click “More business settings” on the left.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


4. Under Accounts, click Pages.

pages screen

Click “Pages” on the left.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


5. Click on the page you want to delete and click View Page in the top-right corner.

Page overview

Go to “View Page.”

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


6. On your page, click Settings on the right side of the menu bar at the top of the page, in between Edit Page Info and Help. Don’t click the gear-shaped settings icon in the very top-right corner as that will take you back to business settings. 

View Page

Click “Settings” at the top.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


7. On the General tab, click Page visibility, located toward the top of the list.

General tab settings

Click “Page visibility” at the top.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


8. Click the circle button next to Page unpublished and hit Save Changes.

Page unpublish screen

Click “Page unpublished” and then “Save Changes.”

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


9. In the Unpublish Page? pop-up, select a reason for unpublishing and hit Next.

10. Then, click an option under What do you need to finish your Page? and click Unpublish.

On the Facebook mobile app:

1. Open the Facebook app on your Android or iOS device.

2. Tap the icon of three horizontal lines in the bottom-right corner and select Pages from the menu.

mobile app settings menu

Tap “Pages” in the settings menu.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


3. Tap the page you want to unpublish.

4. Hit the gear-shaped Settings icon in the top-right corner of the screen.

View Page overview

Tap the settings icon.

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider


5. Tap the General tab and scroll down to the Page Visibility section.

6. Select Unpublish under Page Visibility. A blue check mark will appear and your page should now be invisible to the public.

web27

Tap “Unpublish” under “Page Visibility.”

Grace Eliza Goodwin/Insider